Middleton Road

How I see the world

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Abandoned Buildings

2 Comments

nott house

Nott House: Wellington

This photo was taken a mile or so up Middleton Road from my house.

After I told my partner that I had taken this shot he pointed me in the direction of a story that was in the paper about it when the property (Ivy Farm) was on the market last year (being sold by the estate of the last owner who died a few years previously).  The owner appears to have been a bit of an eccentric – he used to sunbathe naked on the porch (even though this picture is taken from the road and there is a commuter rail line between the road and the house).  In the 1950s he served time in jail for the manslaughter of his wife’s lover.  There is also a local legend that the house is haunted.

I haven’t been able to establish whether  the property sold or not – there is certainly no evidence that anything has been done to the house.  Apparently it  has a heritage listing so any new owner would not be able to just knock it down.

This is my response to Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge theme of abandoned buildings

2 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Abandoned Buildings

  1. I would have had to photograph that building too. It’s wonderful! 🙂

  2. I would love that place as it is!! Spray it with some kind of preservative layer and live on!! 😉

Leave a Reply

